How to Disable Save Options in Photoshop

May 7, 2022

If you're saving files a lot in Adobe Photoshop, then you're familiar with the JPEG/PNG options dialog box that appears every time you save. You can now disable save options in Photoshop by using the Quick Export command. This lets you save files in your desired file format (JPG or PNG) while skipping the JPEG/PNG Options window.

Step 1 - Set the File Format and Options for Saving Files

First, you'll need to predefine the options for saving your file, such as if you want it saved as a JPG, PNG, or GIF file, the image quality, and where the default saving folder should be. To do this, go to Edit > Preferences.

Adjust the default export settings:

  1. Pick whether you want to save as a JPG, PNG, or GIF file (other file formats are not supported). Set the quality (higher quality creates a larger file size)
  2. Enable the "Ask where to export each time" option, so that you can pick where you would like to save the file.
  3. Choose whether you'd like to include metadata. You can save a smaller file by leaving this set to "None".
  4. Choose whether to convert it to sRGB. Turn this on if you are will be posting the image on the internet, or if you're unsure.
  5. If you want the save dialog to automatically set the saving location to where the original file is stored, enable "Export assets to the location of the current document."

The "Use legacy Export As" option will enable legacy mode. This mode gives you the interface of the traditional Export As tool. I recommend keeping this disabled unless you want the old interface.

Step 2 - Create a Keyboard Shortcut for the Quick Export Command

You can now use the File dropdown menu > Export > Quick Export as JPEG.

However, it does not have a keyboard shortcut assigned. To create a keyboard shortcut, go to Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts and Menus. In the Keyboard Shortcuts and Menus window, browse to File > Export > Quick Export as JPG/PNG. Enter the keyboard shortcut that you'd like to use.

There is a good chance that the keyboard shortcut is taken, but you can choose to replace it by clicking on the "Accept and Go to Conflict" button.

Step 3 - Your Newly Saved File

Now you can save your image by pressing the keyboard shortcut you defined in step 2, or by going to File > Export > Quick Export As. You will see a save window, but you won't see the JPEG Options or PNG Options dialog box anymore.

Also, your newly saved file will be saved with the options you set earlier.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Tutorial Pulse
Get practical Photoshop and Lightroom tips and tricks to take your photos and designs to the next level.